Shhh! Go before the secret is out!

I had heard a lot about Jordan since I moved to Kuwait. People mentioned camping in Wadi Rum and snorkeling in Aqaba. As I did more research it sounded like a great spot for a outdoorsy person like me so I booked a week in Jordan for Spring Break. I try to not have expectations when I travel, but Jordan absolutely blew me away. Tourism was huge in the 90s but lately with all the news surrounding the Middle East people have been afraid to travel here. One guide told us tourism is down 75% and another guide said tourism isn’t even at 10% of what it used to be. It’s sad that these awesome destinations are struggling financially because of the decline in tourism, but as a tourist it’s the perfect time to come see all that Jordan has to offer without fighting big crowds. (disclaimer getting around has been a little challenge because there aren’t a lot of directional signs and streets aren’t really named). Petra, like other “7 wonders”, I feel is overrated.  It was neat to walk around and see how expansive this old city is, but in the end it looks just like all the photos you see and when you are there you have to deal with the annoyance of people trying to sell you things and asking for money.  For me the highlight was definitely Wadi Rum and I think the pictures make it clear.

(Some of the photos have captions that will appear when you roll the mouse over the picture.  If you want to know more about one of the photos, just ask!)

Day 1: Mt. Nebo and Jerash

Day 2: Karak castle and Wadi Muji on the way to Dana village then camping in Dana biosphere at Rummana campsite

Day 3 and 4: Petra

Day 5 and 6: Camping in Wadi Rum at Rum Stars campsite

Day 7: Aqaba SCUBA diving

Day 8: Dead Sea

4 thoughts on “Shhh! Go before the secret is out!

  1. Cindy Theiler says:

    Wow! What neat pictures! Looks like you had a fabulous trip! Glad you got to visit there. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Stacy says:

    I LOVE these pictures!!! O my word. They are breathtaking!! So glad you had an amazing week with your parents. Looked unbelievable!!

  3. Gerianne Smith says:

    Hi Molly! And to think I thought camping with your mom as the Brownie leader was an adventure! She prepared you well! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a comment